Restoring a management strategy that protects biodiversity

Mont Caume management plan (Action A4)

To date, there has never been a management plan for Mont Caume. Yet suitable natural asset management and protection measures can only be introduced with the support of a detailed scientific and technical document.

One of the first priorities of the Life project will therefore be to produce a management plan. The first section of this plan will contain an environmental assessment of Mont Caume. This initial assessment will highlight the presence of habitats and species of community importance at the site.

The second section will contain a detailed management plan, listing all conservation activities that will be implemented, based on the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the environmental challenges identified. For each of these aims, a series of practical restoration, protection and monitoring activities will be set out. Maps will also be produced, showing the locations of the habitats and species of community importance and showing the boundaries of the areas covered by the management activities.

Feasibility study on the registration and transfer of military land (Action A7)

The aim of this action is to investigate the possibility of transferring Ministry of Defence land that is not used for military purposes and is a Natura 2000 listed site to a natural space management body. It will involve drawing up a list of potentially transferable plots of military land, defining an environmental hierarchy development methodology that includes biological criteria, and producing a legal framework for the transfer of military land.

Mont Caume will act as a practical case study in this respect.

Management delegation agreement (Action B1)

Based on the outcomes of Action A7, CEN PACA and the Ministry of Defence will draft a management agreement, governed by article L2123-2 of the French Public Property Code, under which management of the site will be delegated to CEN PACA. The agreement will be signed before completion of the project.

This will be the first agreement of its kind in France. 

Share

Rétablir une gestion respectueuse de la biodiversité

Plan de gestion du Mont Caume (Action A4)

Le site du Mont Caume n’a jamais jusqu’ici fait l’objet de plan de gestion. Cependant, pour mettre en place des mesures de gestion et de protection du patrimoine naturel local adaptées, il est important de s’appuyer sur un document scientifique et technique détaillé.

Une des premières actions du projet Life consistera donc en l’élaboration d’un plan de gestion. Il présentera dans une première partie le diagnostic écologique du Mont Caume. Cet état initial  soulignera la présence des habitats et espèces d’intérêt communautaire présentes sur le site.

Dans une seconde partie, le plan de gestion listera les actions de conservation à mettre en œuvre d’après les conclusions du diagnostic écologique et les enjeux environnementaux identifiés. Ces objectifs seront déclinés en actions concrètes de restauration, de mise en défens et de suivi écologique. Des documents cartographiques seront réalisés pour localiser les habitats et espèces d’intérêt communautaire, et pour délimiter les zones concernées par des travaux de gestion.

 

Etude d’opportunité pour le conventionnement et la cession de terrains militaires (Action A7)

L’objet de cette action est d’étudier comment céder une propriété du MINDEF, sans usage militaire et classé Natura 2000, à un gestionnaire des milieux naturels. Il est prévu d’établir une liste des terrains militaires en cession, de définir une méthodologie de hiérarchisation environnementale en prenant en compte les critères d’ordre biologique et, enfin, de dresser un cadre juridique à la cession des terrains militaires.

Le cas du Mont-Caume nous permettra de traiter un cas concret.

 

Convention de délégation de gestion (Action B1)

Grâce aux apports de l’action A7, le CEN PACA et le MINDEF rédigeront une convention de gestion au titre de l’article L2123-2 du code général de la propriété des personnes publiques au profit du CEN PACA. La signature est prévue avant la fin du projet.

Ce sera une première en France ! 

Share