Garrigues camp

 Location

The Garrigues military camp is located in the Gardon mountains, in the Gard department of France. It is situated on the limestone garrigue plateaux surrounding Nîmes and covers an area of 11,725 acres, bordered to the south by the conurbation and the camp buildings. The northern boundary of the camp is formed by the Gardon, the river that rises in the Cévennes mountains and has cut wild gorges stretching for around 12 miles through the plateaux.  

Garrigues5 smgg

The mountain range is covered with typical Mediterranean vegetation, dominated by oak forests and alternating zones of low garrigues with kermes oak, cistus zones and dry grasslands on the rocky outcrops.

The Garrigues camp was opened in 1875 as a military operational preparation facility (shooting ranges, manoeuvre zones, combat village, etc.). It is currently managed by the 2ndForeign Infantry Regiment.

Some 4,890 acres of the northern section of the camp are included in a Natura 2000 site, listed as the "Garrigues camp" Special Protection Area (SPA) in recognition of its remarkable bird population. The site provides attractive nesting and hunting grounds for the Bonelli's Eagle. The Gardon gorges are home to 10% of France's entire population of this rare, threatened raptor, so the camp is an especially important site for this species. It also houses other protected and threatened species, including the Egyptian Vulture, the Short-toed Snake Eagle, the Eurasian Eagle-Owl, the Montagu's Harrier, the European Nightjar, and several species of Passerine that live exclusively in open environments such as the Woodlark, the Dartford Warbler, the Tawny Pipit and the Ortolan Bunting. Populations of Black Kite, European Roller and Common Kingfisher have also been observed in the area.

 

 

Share

Camp des Garrigues

Le camp des Garrigues

 Localisation

Situé sur le massif du Gardon dans le département du Gard, le camp militaire des Garrigues s’étend sur les plateaux calcaires des garrigues nîmoises sur 4745 hectares, bordé au Sud par l’agglomération et le camp bâti. La limite Nord du camp est formée par le Gardon, rivière cévenole qui a creusé au sein de ces plateaux des gorges sauvages d’une vingtaine de kilomètres.  

Garrigues5 smgg

Une végétation méditerranéenne typique recouvre le massif, dominée par la chênaie verte et alternant avec des garrigues basses à chêne kermès, landes à ciste et pelouses sèches sur les affleurements rocheux.

Le camp des Garrigues a été créé en 1875 pour permettre la préparation opérationnelle militaire (champs de tir, zones de manœuvre, village de combat…), il est actuellement géré par le 2ème REI (Régiment Etranger d’Infanterie).

 

Dans la partie Nord du camp, 1980 hectares sont inclus dans un site Natura 2000, classé en Zone de Protection Spéciale (ZPS) « camp des Garrigues » pour l’avifaune remarquable qu’elle abrite. Ainsi, le site offre zone de nidification et territoire de chasse pour l’Aigle de Bonelli. Sachant que les gorges du Gardon abritent 10% de la population française de ce rapace rare et menacé, l’importance du camp est majeure pour l’aigle. D’autres espèces à fort enjeu de conservation sont aussi présents : Vautour percnoptère, Circaète Jean-le-Blanc, Grand-Duc d’Europe, Busard cendré, Engoulevent d’Europe mais aussi certaines espèces de petits passereaux inféodés aux milieux ouverts comme l’Alouette lulu, la Fauvette pitchou, le Pipit rousseline et le Bruant Ortolan. Enfin le Milan noir, le Rollier d’Europe et le Martin-pêcheur d’Europe sont également recensés dans la zone.

 

 

Share