Adapting the way in which the site is used

Detailed initial study to analyse human visitor numbers (Action A5)

bain

Around 100 people work at the base each day, including personnel working in areas other than navigation. Personnel from Customs, the DDTM, the Coastguard and Sea Police, the SNSM and the French Navy have access to the inner harbour as part of their work and regularly depart from there on operations.

Members of the sports and arts club also have access to the sea wall, where their boat is moored (agreement with the Naval command). The police divers' leisure and sports club also uses the site. These people visit the base at weekends and on public holidays, and are unaware of the presence of the Audouin's Gull colony.

A human visitor study is currently being carried out. The aim of this study is to identify the potential impacts of these human activities on the Audouin's Gull colony and to recommend actions to mitigate these impacts.

 

 

Visitor management operation (Action C6)

cloture

The aim of this action is to protect the colony's nesting and breeding grounds from human disturbance. A new metal gate will be installed and "no entry" signs will be erected at the sea wall access points, forbidding entry to the site during the breeding season (1 April to 31 July). Large "no entry" signs will also be placed outside the sea wall for sea users (fishers, pleasure boaters, kayak users, etc.).

           

Information signs and an educational programme (Action E3)

 panneau

 Three types of sign are planned:

  • A sign by the entrance, stating the fact that the military camp is involved in a biodiversity protection project. This has been placed on the main entry gate to the base.
  • An information sign describing the project and the specific actions at the Aspretto naval base. This is currently under development.
  • Signs describing the work undertaken, which will detail current operations and the aims of these operations. 

An education programme will also be introduced. This will involve interpreting the information provided in an inventive and creative way to ensure that it can be understood and appreciated by members of the public, and will ensure that the public supports the decision to restrict entry to the military base. A webcam will also be installed so that the colony can be viewed online. 

Share

Adapter l'usage du site aux enjeux

Avant projet détaillé pour analyser la fréquentation (Action A5)

bainUne centaine de personnes travaille chaque jour sur la base et elles ne sont pas toutes en rapport avec la navigation. Dans le cadre de leur travail, le personnel des Douanes, de la DDTM, de la Gendarmerie maritime et nautique, de la SNSM et de la Marine nationale ont accès à la darse et partent régulièrement en mission.

 

Les membres du Club sportif et artistique ont aussi accès à la digue où sont stationnés leur bateau (convention avec le commandant de la marine) de même que les membres du club loisir et sportif de la gendarmerie de plongée. Ces personnes fréquentant la base le week-end et les jours fériés et ne sont pas sensibilisés à la présence de la colonie de goélands d’Audouin.

Une étude de fréquentation est en cours afin d'identifier les éventuels impacts de toutes ces activités humaines sur la colonie de goélands d’Audouin, et de proposer les mesures appropriées pour les réduire.

 
Opération de gestion de la fréquentation (Action C6)

clotureCette action vise à protéger le site de la colonie des dérangements humains. Pour ce faire, une nouvelle grille et des panneaux d'interdiction placés aux points d'accès de la digue empêcheront d'approcher le site durant la reproduction (1er avril au 31 juillet). Des grands panneaux d'interdiction d'accès seront également placés à l'extérieur de la digue, à l'intention des usagers de la mer (pêcheurs, plaisanciers, kayakistes, etc.).

           

Panneaux d’informations  et action d’éco-interprétation de la nature (Action E3)

 panneauTrois types de panneaux sont prévus :

  • Un panneau d’entrée afin de mentionner l’engagement du camp militaire dans un projet de défense de la biodiversité. Il a été posé sur la grille d’entrée de la base.
  • Un panneau d’information décrivant le projet et les actions spécifiques à la base d’Aspretto. Il est en cours de réalisation.
  • Des panneaux liés à la réalisation de travaux qui mentionneront les opérations en cours et leurs objectifs. 

De plus, une démarche d’interprétation proposera un traitement inventif et créatif des informations à communiquer afin de les rendre accessibles et attrayantes pour le public, sans remettre en cause l’interdiction d’entrée sur la base militaire. Il s’agira notamment d’installer une caméra afin de visualiser la colonie à partir d’internet. 

Share